Crazy for cocoa groats

I had no idea what I wanted for dinner. I worked a long twelve hours, and came home hungry and frrrreeezing. Can you believe it’s only 13 degrees outside, wtf?  I thought about my options and couldn’t decide if I wanted a smoothie, cup of soup, or bowl of cereal.  A smoothie was definitely out of the question, waaaaaaay too cold for tonight.  Savory tomato soup didn’t sound appealing either, and plain cereal sounded…well …just plain.

If I had another empty Nutella jar I totally would have had one of these.

Cereal in a Nutella jar was hands down the best meal I had this week (wed-wed) thus far. Clearly I’ve been thinking about it a lot.

But no, no empty jar to be found so I decided to “believe in myself,” take a chance, and do some experimenting in the kitchen.

 What I came up with was a hot cocoa smoothie of sorts.

Yes you heard right, repeat after me: hot cocoa smoothie.

Here’s what you need if you decide to give it a try.

  • ¼ cup cooked buckwheat groats
  • ½ medium mashed banana
  • ½ tsp chia seeds
  • 1 cup of milk (soy, almond, hemp) In this case I think cow’s milk would taste best but feel free to use whatever you desire.
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder

The chia seeds give the smoothie a nice fluffy tuxture. If you don’t have chia seeds no worries just leave them out.

In a medium pot add the cooked buckwheat groats, mashed banana, chia seeds and milk, allow to boil stirring frequently. Add your favorite chocolate protein powder and continue to mix until well incorporated.

You know what the hot cocoa smoothie reminded me of?

Coco Wheat’s!

(borrowed photo)

Did you ever eat these as a kid? Probably not the most nutritious breakfast but who cares when your ahem (little).  I’m sure my version is a bit healthier, and of course I amped it up with a few toppings.

  •  1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp coconut
  • the other half of the banana
  • 1/4 cup low-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 2 tbsp granola

Okay now that you probably think I’m crazy, it’s off to bed for me. One more day of work.

 

Happy hump day and don’t forget about the party.

Maria

P.S. Jenn has some very crafty ideas over there!

9 thoughts on “Crazy for cocoa groats

Leave a comment