Hey mock-a-rita

Ole! Ole!

Ole! Ole!

My great grandparents (all four) are from mexico and my grandparents (all four) are from Texas. Being Cinco de Mayo and all naturally we had a mexican meal for dinner. Mexican food to me is my go to comfort food. If I’m ever feeling down or ill, some good ole spicy mexican food makes it all the better. 

The hubs was kind enough to make chicken tacos per my request while, the little apron and I were at a girl scout meeting. Mexican food can be very high in calories and fat but just a couple of substitutions can make it healthier.

A few things that work for me

Chicken, shrimp or fish instead of beef

Smaller tortillas, preferably wheat and low-carb if available

Small sprinkle of cheese low-fat cheese or better yet nutritional yeast

Lots of lettuce and veg for added bulk and fiber

Only 1 serving of tortilla chips (about a cup)

My plate. One chicken taco seasoned with cumin, s+p, and salsa

On the side: extra lettuce, organic tortilla chips, spoonful of salsa and about 2 tbsp of guacamole. Didja know avocados are a good fat?

Beverage of choice: Mock-a-rita! [{otherwise known as vitamin water zero in a fancy margarita glass}] Yes this is a dry house until after the race 🙂

Dessert: Two girl scout cookies while at the meeting.

How did you spend your 5th of May?

Leave a Reply

