Ten miles down

 

Today’s 10 mile run was actually quite fun.  It only took about a mile before I realized all the kinks and sluggishness had vanished.

The weather was perfect, sunny yet cool.

The Monon wasn’t too busy either it was filled with just the right amount of runners, walkers, and bikers.

I covered 10 miles in about 1 hour and 39 minutes, that’s about a 9.9 minute pace.

A little bit slow, but then again today was only practice, sometimes slower is better.

After my run I elevated my legs and let the blood run back to my core.

 

 

Post fuel: Otherwise known as the rest of my breakfast was a protein shake in a reusable Kombucha bottle.

Love using my empty kombucha bottles for water and such, oh so GREEN.

I packed this little snack with me knowing lunch wouldn’t be for at least a couple of hours.

1 cup almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, and half a banana.

During training I usually end up eating about four times a day anyway. Smaller meals with more nutritional value. Having a protein shake within 30 minutes of a long run curbs my appetite, and I feel like the nutrients absorb better.

After a quick shower and a few errands I finally had lunch.

Sandwich: PB+strawberry jam on rye bread with sliced strawberries.

Salad: lettuce, spinach, onion, asparagus, sprinkle of walnuts, sprinkle of gorgonzola cheese, more strawberries , black pepper and a drizzle of honey.

 You already know I can’t live with tortilla chips. I dug into the almost empty bag of FSTG blue corn tortilla chips and added them for a little extra crunch.

Dessert:

¼ pumpkin, ¼ cup low-fat vanilla yogurt, and 1 tbs of bare naked fit almond granola.

Not much else happened today except dinner.

Over the weekend I worked at the hospital and I’m not sure why but it seemed colder than usual in there.  

I had a hard time keeping warm, and decided right then and there I’d be making a spicy soup for Monday nights dinner. 

Not sure what to call it yet.

It’s a mix between a sweet and spicy soup with added chicken, glass noodles, mung beans and shiitake mushrooms.

Seasoned with ginger, s+p, jalapenos, chili powder and lime juice.

It did it’s job! Warmed me up and helped with Mr. Aprons cold, even the little apron liked it.

 Time to rest and get some beauty sleep.

Nite 🙂

Leave a Reply

