Portions are as big as they appear

Hey!

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post. March came and went in the blink of an eye. Now that spring a sprung I have the sudden urge to pick up where I left off.

My favorite and most memorable lunch during March was at the famous Shapiro’s delicatessen.

Let me just start out by saying it’s very hard to order a healthy meal at a deli/cafeteria when there are so many heavy decadent options to choose from. I knew going in ahead of time I wanted the lox (smoked salmon), but not the usual bagel that comes with. After reading the chalkboard style menu and realizing Shapiro’s makes their “own rye”, my mind was made up.

“I’ll have the lox on rye with light cream cheese, please”.

Here’s what the guy behind the counter says to me “Miss, everything here comes in one size”. Meaning. No we do not have light cream cheese.

My plate…but first a WARNING: OBJECT ARE AS BIG AS THEY APPEAR!

Would the light cream cheese have really made a difference anyway, what’s a few extra calories?

My new plate…

One piece of rye bread (very good), about half the salmon and half the toppings. The rest of the goodness went into a to go box and was enjoyed the next day for lunch. The lettuce you see under the sandwich was just enough to make an impromptu salad. After roughly chopping the lettuce I added some of the tomato, onion and a drizzle of fresh squeezed lemon.

I shared a few pieces of fruit with the hubs and called it a day.

What’s your favorite deli sandwich?

2 thoughts on “Portions are as big as they appear

  1. Welcome back girlie! Wow, that plate is quite the mountain of deli goodness! I love going places that guarantees lunch for the next day. I don’t go to deli type eateries often, but when I do go, I love anything that is toasted topped with avocado! There’s just something about a sandwich with warm crusty bread and a creamy slab of avocado! I love making my own sandwiches at home stuffed with roasted veggies! Mmm!

Leave a Reply

