Mojo, Wine, and Cookies

Tuesday’s workout was so much fun. I did 60 minutes of Athletic Conditioning and then 45 minutes of hill repeats on the treadmill.

Before I get to Tuesday’s meals here’s a quick blurb about Athletic Conditioning:

After graduating nursing school in 2005 and gaining a TON of weight I knew something had to be done. The first thing on my, “to buy” list after getting a job was a gym membership. I had always been a runner but didn’t have (or make?) the time while in school to run or workout. I eased my way back into the gym by doing 30 minutes session on the elliptical, 30 minutes of weight machines and about 10 minutes of abs at the end. Once I felt strong enough and confident enough I took my first group fitness class, Turbo Kick.  It wasn’t until about a year later in 2006 that I started taking Athletic Conditioning. Before that I would walk by the class peek through the window hear loud music and watch the class do amazing things. I quickly decided I wasn’t ready for that haaaarrrrd level of physical activity, and would go on my merry way. To be honest I was a little scared! Can you imagine a beautiful blonde, super fit, and pregnant at that shouting out drills? When I finally stepped into class, I immediately fell in love with the structure and comradery the class brought. I may not be a professional athlete but for 60 minutes once a week I can pretend. J Every week is different, every week is challenging and that’s the whole point!  So many times we get used to repetition we forget to push ourselves.   Compared to yoga [my other love] athletic conditioning is a very much in your face approach. You do what’s asked of you and try your best because someone makes you accountable. Athletic conditioning and yoga are different in the best possible ways.

Who or what makes you accountable?

Pre-fuel AKA breakfast:

1 cup honey nut toasty O’s, 1/2 cup wheat-fuls, 1/2 cup frozen berries, 1 cup 2% organic milk, 1 tbsp Nuttzo ,  and 1.5 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut

Post-fuel AKA lunch:

Simple salad with 2 handfuls of chopped romaine, 1 hard-boiled egg, celery, cherry tomatoes, 2 tbsp gorgonzola, and 1 tbsp of green goddess.

On the side a small orange, 1 serving of TJ’s multi-grain crackers, 1 tbsp of garlicky hummus, and a glass of sparkling water (not shown).

My lunch also consisted of a Voskos greek yogurt that I saved for a snack around 6:00.

Mr. Apron had dinner made and ready by the time little apron and I got home from choir practice.

Spicy chicken nachos with Late July Mild Green Mojo multigrain snack chips. I wish I could say I loved the chips but they were just meh, they reminded me of Doritos. Not saying anything bad about Doritos, they just had that thick powdery seasoning on top, ya know? If you want to try them for yourself  they’re on sale at whole foods (2 for $5.00).

I topped my mojo nachos with gauc, and shredded cheese. The chix and lettuce were so good I went back for seconds.

A small glass of Natale Verga Prosecco rounded out the meal. The hubs and I found it over the weekend for only $10.00 a bottle, It’s quickly becoming my new favorite sparkling wine. [great taste and bubbles]

Dessert: Oh yes I did!

Dos galletas out of a hugh jass box of cookies given to us from my mom 🙂

Happy What I ate Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “Mojo, Wine, and Cookies

  1. WOW thats some seriously work out you did today! GOOD FOR YOU… I need a better motivator other than myself. When I take a class I feel like I can always go longer…maybe it really is the “in your face” approach that does the trick

  2. Oh booo that stinks that the chips weren’t outstanding! Have you tried the Food Should Taste Good Sweet Potato Tortilla Chips? They are my favorite new chip for nachos =) Sooooo stinkin good!

    Thanks for linking up doll! I added your fab food to the party and an image/link as well! ❤ This was a picture perfect day of eats girl! Good job! I would eat all of this… over and over again! =)

  3. I just found your blog searching around on wordpress & I think it’s adorable! I love the food photography & how you set cute backgrounds for your delicious looking meals.

    I’m thinking about posting more food-related stuff on my blog, but haven’t really gone down that road yet. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

