low and slow that is the tempo

I talked to one of my yoga instructors Monday after class and told her about my sinus issue and how it was difficult to only breath through my nose during poses. I asked her for future reference if it was okay to breath through my mouth. Her advise  to me was, “you should never breath through your mouth, it’s your body’s way of telling you to slow down”. Do you know how hard it is exercise and not breath through your mouth?

Did I slow down? No. The very next day I went to athletic conditioning and did 60 minutes of grueling adult gym class. It was a decent workout and I put in as much effort into it as I could. I’m glad I went, but I knew Friday’s long run would have to be a bit slower. I took her advice yesterday to a slow flow class instead of vinyasa. It’s Probably what I needed but It’s so hard for me slow down!

Pre-yoga meal, otherwise know as breakfast:

 A  bowl of yummy cereal

  •  3/4 cup mom’s best mallow oats
  • 1/2 cup wheat-fuls
  • 1/2 cup mixed berries
  • almond butter (it’s in there somewhere)
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

Why did I have marshmallows for breakfast? I really don’t know, it just sounded good 🙂

 After yoga I ran some errands, got my makeup did and met the hubs for lunch at Panera. I have a new piece of makeup I’m dying to show you all!

I ordered from the pick-two menu.

  • asian salad
  • 1/2 tuna salad sandwich on honey wheat
  • small apple

When it came time for my evening  sixty-minute run I was tired and tried to talk myself out of it.  I wanted to do nothing , but everything at the same time.

In case you’re wondering, yes I went to the gym with a glamorous face.

Here’s what was going on in my mind.

what if I continue to get sicker?

what if I over train?

I can always make up the run on Monday

blah, blah, blah…

I decided to suck it up and head to the gym. I ran for a total of 5.34 miles on the treadmill, a little slow for my taste but I’m okay with it. It went kinda like this.

Warm-up 30  minutes starting at 13:00 minute mile, gradually increasing to a 10:00 minute mile.

Once I got to the 10:00 minute mile, I decided to do some hill repeats.

The first repeat was at a 6% incline for 2 minutes. Die.

Then,

!% incline for 2 minutes

5% incline for 2 minutes

1% incline for 2 minutes

5% incline for 2 minutes

1 % incline for 2 minutes

5% incline for 2 minutes

After the hill repeats (about 15 minutes) I gradually decreased my pace by 2 every 2 minutes.

I wanted to take my time and considering the hill repeats were hard I feel like I got in a productive workout.

My plan is to start doing hill repeats once a week to increase leg strength and get ready for the very hilly Geist Half-Marathon in May.

Dinner

 

 Tilapia fish tacos with green chili salsa from Arizona, and a sour cream cilantro lime crema.

Two very small glasses of Rex Goliath wine. Does anyone else like Rex? I’ll be working all weekend, have a great one.

Maria

Leave a Reply

