Organic fuel

Pancake Monday is soon becoming the new pancake Sunday. Why wait all week?

Years ago I wouldn’t dare touch a pancake in fear of the “carbs”. But you know what? Carbs are not as bad as the “low-carb diets” has made them out to seem. Healthy carbs such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables are high in fiber and should make up about 50% of your daily intake. Pancakes are great two-three hours before a long run or intense workout. Pair healthy carbs with a little bit of protein to sustain your blood sugar.

A few ideas

  • banana and 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • waffle and a hard-boiled egg
  • cereal with almond milk and 1 tbsp nut butter

You wouldn’t drive your car on empty so why would you do that to your body?

You could always try these, pancakes topped with grilled organic banana slices, frozen mixed berries, low-fat vanilla yogurt, a sprinkle each of coconut and apricot granola. Yogurt especially greek yogurt has a good amount of protein.

The cute little sticker made my day. Kiss me I’m organic.

Morning workout: 75 minutes of hot vinyasa yoga.

On my way home I stopped at Good Earth for another Kombucha, and then the breadsmith for some lunch supplies.

Trilogy is my favorite flavor, lots of bubbles and fizz. I should totally buy stock in this stuff.

Lunch was an egg sandwich on traditional rye with a smear of spinach artichoke dip, leftover from Sundays super bowl party. Yum!

Yogi echinacea tea (for the sniffles), leftover fruit salad and a side olive oil chips rounded out the meal.

Nothing much happened after lunch. I balanced my check book (yeah or not), watched The Jersey Shore (shhh don’t tell), and then it was time for a run.

Afternoon workout: Despite my uber tiredness I was able to run 3.1 miles in 30 minutes on the treadmill. I did surprise myself. My mantra for the run was “believe in yourself” which coincidentally was my intention for todays yoga practice. Before every yoga session the instructor will ask us to “set an intention for your practice”, meaning what are you grateful for? what do you want to improve in your life/yoga practice. Do you ever use mantra’s to get through a hard run or difficult time? If so what are they?

Here are a few of mine:

  • you got it baby girl
  • zen mind zen body
  • you will not give up
  • you’re already here now finish it!

I needed a high protien dish for dinner.

Chicken marinated in soyaki and grilled with sesame seeds, steamed frozen broccoli, and 1/2 large baked potato topped with yogurt dressing.

Night cap

A cup of Pero and two ginger snaps made by my mother-in-law. The cookies were soooo goood, I must get the recipe from her.

Hope you had a happy Monday 🙂

7 thoughts on “Organic fuel

  1. i used to be the same way! completely opposed to carbs! but a girl needs her bread!! and pancakes are a must on my list, not to mention yours look incredible, especially with bananas and coconut!!!!!

  2. hi! I just found your blog 🙂 I love your about me page and love that you like to keep it simple.
    The pancakes look fabulous!
    I really like the mantras you listed too. I’m in school for Clinical Psychology and we are having our group therapy clients use mantras to help them cope with whatever they are dealing with 🙂

    • Soyaki is a teriyaki sauce and marinade that can be used for meat, poultry, fish, tofu, and vegetables. It has soy sauce, sugar, garlic, sesame seeds, soybean oil, ginger and few other spices in it. It’s only sold at Trader Joe’s, but I’m sure you could find a similair version at a health food store if you don’t have TJ’s.

  3. Pingback: A tribute to simply breakfast | thefittedapron

Leave a Reply

