Blackberry Surprise Granola Bars

Do you like chocolate..and oats…and blackberries?

If so then you should make these granola bars today.

I’m always buying granola bars at the grocery store and one day not long ago thought to myself. Self: “what if I made my very own granola bars?” I could save money and determine exactly what goes into the mix. I found a recipe at Eat Live Run for yogi trail mix bars and knew if Jenna made it then they had to be good. The original recipe called for 1 cup of honey, 2 tbsp granulated sugar and 1/2 cup oat bran, three ingredients I did not have. Since my car was buried thick in ice and their was now way I was going to put on real clothes to dig myself out, the only thing to do was improvise.

In the very back of the cupboard I found a jar of blackberry whipped honey. I purchased the honey on a bright summer day at the local farmers market. Oh how I miss the good old days.

At the time it was a pure impulse buy and had know idea what I was going to use it for.

Wildflower Ridge Honey from Anderson, Indiana

I’m glad I bought it though it was nice substitution for regular honey. Instead of oat bran I used wheat bran, and instead of sugar I was forced to use three packets of Splenda (gasp) . I know…who doesn’t have sugar in their pantry? A girl’s gotta do what a girls gotta do. I needed to bake and I needed to bake now.

Blackberry Surprise Granola Bars

Ingredients:

1/2 cup whipped blackberry honey (or 1 cup regular honey)

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

3/4 cup dried cranberries (dried blackberries would be awesome!)

1/2 cup wheat bran

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1/4 cup peanut butter

2 tbsp granulated sugar (or three packets of Splenda if you absolutely have too)

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Combine the honey, vanilla, salt, sugar and peanut butter in a medium-sized saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer, stir occasionally, cook for about four minutes.

2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, cranberries, wheat bran, shredded coconut and sunflower seeds.

3. Pour the honey mixture over the oat mixture and toss well.

4. Add the chocolate chips and fold together, do not overmix.

5. Press the mixture into a lined nine-inch pan and pat down.

6. Chill in the refrigerator for and hour, or until firm, cut into bars.

Even though you don’t actually bake the bars, still put on an apron, grab a spatula and twirl around the kitchen.

3 thoughts on “Blackberry Surprise Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: athletic conditioning is more than alright | thefittedapron

Leave a Reply

