when you start counting miles, you become a slave to miles

This morning’s run was shared with my dear friend Cassie.

Can you believe she just had a baby 12 weeks ago, she looks great! Waking up at 7:00AM on Saturday morning and running in 30 degree weather is what I like to call dedication.

Cassie and I met about two years ago when she moved into the neighborhood with her now hubby. We hit it off immediately and have been friends ever since.

 Back in our heyday. Clearly both of us are Colts fans.

Cassie joined The  Blue Mile running club two weeks and is training for a half-marathon the same day as mine but in a different city. I missed the first week due to a work conflict but made it in today.  The Blue Mile is a locally owned and operated running/walking store with three locations in Indy. The owner Shelly is a really nice guy with lots of experience. I had a few concerns about the program and he was kind enough to give some advice. You see I have always ran by miles rather than timed runs. His training schedule is  based on timed runs rather than miles. This is a total different way of thinking for me.

For example:

 Runner’s World smart coach  (hard) week of 1/3-9  Remember I started training early so to compare fairly I had to use the second week of training for both programs.

Mon- rest                                            

Tues -2 miles @ 10:13                                                                                                                                                 

Wed-rest    

Thurs-3 miles @ 10:13

Fri-rest  

Sat-rest

Sun-3 miles @ 10:13                                                                                                  

=8 miles total

Blue mile training program week of 1/29-2/4 (intermediate)

Sat-40 minutes or 4 miles easy/steady

Sun-rest

Mon-30 minutes easty/steady

Tues-rest

Wed-25 minutes easy

Thur-rest

Fri-20 minutes easy jog or cross train, yoga, or walk

=Total 1 hour 55 min or 11.5 miles based on a 10 minute mile.

With the first training program the week starts on a Monday with long runs every Sunday. The running days and miles are clearly set.  Of course with any training program the mileage and speed will increase over time.

With the second program the week starts with a long run every Saturday at the club. The good thing about doing long runs on Saturday’s vs. Sundays is having an  extra day to recover before having to go back to work Monday morning being extra tired.

I have always trained alone except two years ago when I joined the Ken Long running club to get ready for 26.2 miles. I felt like doing something different this year. I knew I wanted to be around people and build relationships with fellow runners. By joining the Blue Mile running club I figured this would be a good place to start. Only time can tell if you can teach an old dog new tricks.

I feel pretty optimistic about the program and realize that I will actually be running more. Shelly said “when you start counting your miles, you become a slave to miles.”

Todays run was very good. The cool air didn’t bother my stride or time. The only thing that hurt a little was the cool air hitting my chin. If spring doesn’t come soon, I may need to invest in a ski mask (not very Kardashian like..I know).

The trail was beautiful.

A little snow.

Lot of people.

Distracting artwork.

The combination of scenery, good people and lots of eats on Friday contributed to such an easy run.

This was definitely a great way to start the weekend.

5 thoughts on “when you start counting miles, you become a slave to miles

  1. I’m going to let this be a little kick in the butt to me… I need to wake up an go for a run tomorrow! Fingers crossed that I manage to get my sneakers on and my tush out the door! =)

    You girls are hardcore! in the best way possible ❤

  2. That looks like a really pretty trail to run!!! Also, your previous post has convinced me that I MUST try Nutella. How have I not tried it yet!? I don’t know, but I definitely need to pick some up next time I’m at the store 🙂

Leave a Reply

