Mornin Monday

I’ve been craving green spinach of all forms lately, I think it has something to do with it’s iron and calcium properties. This morning I decided to blend some up and put it in my pancakes.

Wait!

It was really good, I promise.

I’m pretty sure the sneaky chef has some kind of recipe called spinach puree, that she adds to various dishes.

For my cakes:

I added 1 cup baby spinach and 3/4 cup frozen mixed berries to the blender and blended until just smooth.

I added the mixture to 1/2 cup of kodiac pancake mix and 1/2 cup water.

The batter was a little thick but cooked nicely on the griddle. The color of cakes were a nice brown.

Kodiac pancake mix is super easy to use. You don’t have to add, milk, eggs, or oil, just water. You could always substitute milk for the water if you like.

Originally I was going to add cocoa to the mix but decided it would be better to top the cakes with Nutella.

Oh yeah, Nutella baby.

Thank you Sara and Eric for getting me hooked on this stuff. Really 🙂

I got L.a to cautiously take a bite, and have to say she did not love them, but hey you can’t win fool em all. Maybe next time I’ll add some cocoa just for her.

I topped my cakes with nutella, vanilla yogurt, and a sprinkle of almond granola.

This has inspired me to make spinach cupcakes. Drool.

I really think you’ll like them.

Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

