Undercover

Saturday’s 3 mile run was fun and easy. I ran on the treadmill covering 3.29 miles at a 9’55” mile pace. My gym has the new Nike treadmills wich I absolutely love. The tread is smooth, and soft, and the stats seem pretty accurate. I also like the fact that I can hook up my i-pod and record my runs. Sometimes when I use older machines especially at hotel gyms I feel like I’m running 100 miles per hour and getting no where.

For lunch I made that new dinner recipe.

to do:

  • workout (always, always, always, make your workouts a priority. write em down, schedule them in, do whatever you have to do to make yourself accountable.) done 1/4
  • bake cupcakes for the little aprons birthday done 1/5
  • make granola done 1/4
  • clean refrigerator done 1/4
  • balance checkbook done 1/5
  • new dinner recipe done 1/8

 

I made this dish once before using a few different ingredients,  this one is the best. Maybe it’s the champagne vinegar I found at Target. I was actually looking for balsamic vinegar and white wine, so when I found the combo I figured it would be cheaper and taste better.

Artichoke pasta

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of artichoke hearts, drained and halved
  • 1 small yellow onion,  chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup tri-color pasta
  • 2 chicken breast, cooked (optional)
  •  1 tbsp evoo
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 2 tbsp sun-dried tomatoes
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 cup champagne vinegar
  • 1/4 cup pasta water
  • dash s + p

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to directions.

2. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion, and cook until tender. Add artichokes, mushroom, garlic, and lemon juice, season with salt and pepper. Cook until artichokes are tender, 7-8 minutes.

3. Add champagne vinegar, and simmer. Stir in reserved 1/4 cup past water, and sun-dried tomatoes.

4. Add cooked pasta and chicken.

Place on a bed of baby spinach and enjoy! 

I never made it on the ice yesterday, too busy entertaining.  I had my final piece of dessert for the week, and few kernels of pop corn.

The fam and I were invited to a co-workers home to have dinner, play catch phrase, and watch the Colts game.

 I’m sorry to say the Colts lost to the New York Jets 17-16 😦

The spread was amazing. Fresh fruit and veggies, salads, and some good ol comfort food as well.

 

 

My plate:

Fruit, veg, salad, texas caviar, texas toast, pork roast (shared), and a smear of mashed potatoes. Yes, that is a diet Pepsi you see. I figured since the hostess doesn’t drink alcohol, and I already used up all my deserts. A diet Pepsi would have to do. A girl’s gotta have some fun after all. I also had a diet squirt, haven’t had let alone seen one of those in forever.

 Q. How do deal with taking pictures at other peoples homes?

I do it all the time at restraunts, and sure the little old lady sitting at the table across from me might look at me and think I’m bizarre. But I’m getting used to it. I just pretend I’m under cover doing research for a restraunt article.

My family has gotten used to the five second pause before each meal. And I’m even figuring out ways to keep my food warm or cold depending on the dish.

Not very many people know about “The Fitted Apron”, and since this is so new to me I wanted to know your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

